Skip to main content

University of Malaysia

The University of Malaysia (UM; Malaysian: Universiti Malaya) is both a research center and a public university located in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Its name was abbreviated to Malaya during the pre-independence period. It is the oldest in the country. The university was established in 1949 as a state-funded institution. Today, it employs more than 2,500 people. In 2012, it received its autonomy at the initiative of the Ministry of Higher Education . Currently, it includes 12 faculties, 2 academies and 3 centers or services: Faculty of Law, Faculty of Engineering Sciences, Faculty of Dental Surgery, Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Environment, Faculty of Administration and Economics, Faculty of Management and Accounting, Faculty of Educational Sciences, Faculty of Sciences, Faculty of Foreign Languages, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Faculty of Computer Science, Academy of Malaysian Studies, Academy of Islamic Studies, a cultural center, a sports department and a propaedeutic study center.

Vice-Chancellor :
H.E.Prof. Dato' Ir. Dr. Mohd Hamdi Abd Shukor

منظمة العالم اﻹسلامي للتربية و العلوم و الثقافة
اتحاد جامعات العالم الإسلامي